Posted on

It takes two to tango! Climbing and birthday gifts.

My husband and I have been climbing for years. Thankfully climbing is a cheap sport that doesn’t require a lot of gear and there aren’t a lot of consumables. In fact, a lot of people live in vans, climbing almost year round and living on next to nothing. Check out camp 4 in Yosemite for what I’m talking about.

 

Anyway, he’s way more into climbing than I am and I always struggle to figure out what to buy him for his birthday. He clearly likes when I give him climbing gifts but it can be hard to figure out what to get since he buys all the gear and I don’t really know much about it (and I don’t have time to figure it out). The best approach seems to be to buy items that are ancillary to climbing but aren’t climbing gear. If I buy him a $200 rope and it’s not the right one, well, that’s a waste of $200 because they are non-returnable and no one wants to buy them used, even if they aren’t actually used yet.

Midnight lightning (this is not me climbing!).

Midnight lightning (this is not me climbing!).

Leave a Reply

